How do I Separate Sections using the De-Crosslist Tool?

Cross-listing allows you to move section enrollments from individual courses and combine them into one course. This feature is helpful for instructors who teach several sections of the same course and only want to manage course data in one location. If your courses are already cross-listed and you want to de-cross-list them, follow these steps.

Enable the De-Crosslist Tool in your Course

UNF has developed a tool to make it easy for your de-cross-list and re-cross-list your courses.  The tools is off by default in courses and the first step to de-cross-listing your sections is to enable this tool.

Step 1: From the combined course go to Settings

course-menu-settings

Step 2: Select the Navigation tab at the top of the Course Details page

navigation-tab

Step 3: Under the list of items hidden to students, click and drage De-Crosslist Tool into the top list of tools available in the course
navigation-move-tool

Step 4: Click the blue Save button at the bottom of the screen and the De-Crosslist Tool will appear on the course menu

Steps to Separate Course Sections

Step 1: Click the De-Crosslist Tool from the course menu

course-menu-decrosslis2t

Step 2: It may take a minute for this next page to load, but once it does you will be given a list of the sections that are combined in the course, to remove a section from the course simply click the active button to the right

decrosslist-sections

Step 3: Each time you “de-activate” a section you will received a pop-up confirming the action

confirmation-message

Step 4: If you separate all of the sections that are listed in the course you will be redirected to your Canvas Dashboard, this is due to the combined course no longer having any enrollments (including yours)

Step 5: To get to the section(s) you just separated click on the Courses navigation from the blue side menu and they will appear in your course list, if they do no click All Courses and you may need to favorite them

canvas-navigation-courses

Important Information Regarding Course Content

If you have already added content or completed your course prep in the combined course it will not automatically copy it to the individual sections as you de-cross-list them.  You will have to copy the content to at least one of the sections (if more than two sections are combined) before de-activating all of the combined sections.  If the combined course is only composed of two sections, contact CIRT at cirtlab@unf.edu or 620-3927 and they can assist.

Related Articles